Wrox Programmer Forums

Need to download code?

View our list of code downloads.

Register | FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read
BOOK: Joomla! Start to Finish: How to Plan, Execute, and Maintain Your Web Site
This is the forum to discuss the Wrox book Joomla! Start to Finish: How to Plan, Execute, and Maintain Your Web Site by Jen Kramer; ISBN: 978-0-470-57089-0
Welcome to the p2p.wrox.com Forums.

You are currently viewing the BOOK: Joomla! Start to Finish: How to Plan, Execute, and Maintain Your Web Site section of the Wrox Programmer to Programmer discussions. This is a community of tens of thousands of software programmers and website developers including Wrox book authors and readers. As a guest, you can read any forum posting. By joining today you can post your own programming questions, respond to other developersí questions, and eliminate the ads that are displayed to guests. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free .
DRM-free e-books 300x50
 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 16th, 2010, 07:56 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Smile Another Review

Kudos to Kramer for an excellent introduction to Joomla!

I have a small web development business and have created several web sites using HTML and CSS and a text editor. When my latest client needed a CMS I selected Joomla! and bought a copy of your book to help me figure out how to build their web site. I am pleased with Joomla!'s flexibility, capability and ease of use and am equally pleased with the excellent introduction that "Joomla! Start to Finish" provided.

I found the first two chapters very helpful and I recognized many of the client "foibles" that you related. It is amazing how easy it is to get carried away with the technology and miss the fact that the web site has to support the client organization. I will be back to these chapters again.

I especially liked the four stock answers. They comprise an excellent introduction to web design all by themselves.

I found that after reading the entire book (and marking the salient points for this particular client) I was able to follow those sections step-by-step and handle configuration, software installations, backups, content creation, etc. on my installation. That gave me a lot of confidence and and a new appreciation for rule #4 - I knew more than I thought I did.

There were several sections of the book that did not apply to this client but reading through those sections helped me to understand Joomla! a bit better. It is a significant mental shift from hand coding HTML and CSS and I found that the material, even if only background information at this time, was most helpful.

I will create more Joomla! installations in the future and expect that, in time, I will become conversant with more of what is included in the book. Heck I may even build my own template.

So thanks a bunch for putting this book together. It isn't the only book on Joomla! that I own but for me it was the perfect introduction to Joomla! and I really appreciated the way you shared your experiences and expertise.
The Following User Says Thank You to ttschopp For This Useful Post:
jen4web (August 28th, 2010)
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 28th, 2010, 09:49 AM
Wrox Author
Points: 133, Level: 2
Points: 133, Level: 2 Points: 133, Level: 2 Points: 133, Level: 2
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 26
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you so much! I am so pleased my book helped you. Hope to meet you in person sometime at a Joomla event. :-)

Thanks!
Jen
 


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Review pCarsten BOOK: Expert PHP and MySQL 0 April 2nd, 2010 12:00 PM
Review emdoc BOOK: Joomla! Start to Finish: How to Plan, Execute, and Maintain Your Web Site 1 March 29th, 2010 12:12 PM
review my code vertex78 PHP Databases 0 May 12th, 2008 05:19 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2013 John Wiley & Sons, Inc.