p2p.wrox.com Forums

p2p.wrox.com Forums (http://p2p.wrox.com/)
-   BOOK: Beginning VB.NET 2nd Edition/Beginning VB.NET 2003 (http://p2p.wrox.com/book-beginning-vb-net-2nd-edition-beginning-vb-net-2003-34/)
-   -   Beginning VB.NET 2003 Chapter 16 (http://p2p.wrox.com/book-beginning-vb-net-2nd-edition-beginning-vb-net-2003/43050-beginning-vbulletin-net-2003-chapter-16-a.html)

siegmeister May 26th, 2006 09:43 AM

Beginning VB.NET 2003 Chapter 16

Sorry for the post,... I am new to programming (trying to learn). Anyway, I was doing the DataSet example in Chapter 16, but I cannot get it to work. I downloaded the code from your website and got the same Microsoft Development Environment Error displaying the following message:

An unhandled exception of type 'System.Data.SqlClient.SqlException' occurred in system.data.dll

Additional information: System error.

I seems to be bombing on the Open Database command - objConnection.Open()

Have you seen this before with the code samples? Any guidance would be appreciated.

siegmeister May 26th, 2006 11:36 AM

I should add that I am running SQL Server 2005 on the same box that I am trying to program on. Also, I verified that I do indeed have the pubs database, and I can connect to it fine otherwise. I tried a new project in VB and ammended the parameters to get data from the Northwind database and got the same error.

I googled the error, but the only results referenced making the DB call before you pass the parameters, but this referred to SQL 7.0

Thearon May 29th, 2006 01:28 PM