View Single Post
Old August 18th, 2004, 08:25 AM
Friend of Wrox
Points: 3,489, Level: 24 Points: 3,489, Level: 24 Points: 3,489, Level: 24
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

Peter- Let me say I agree, there is no reason you CAN'T build different projects and use different languages- I just think a good shop has some standards- even in that standard is to split the languages as you have done at your shop. I do, however, consider myself a real programmer- and I have never worked with C or C++. None of my jobs ever "needed" me to know how to use those languages, as a result I never learned them. I am 100% self-taught as a developer. Books and so forth. No training in development at all, really.

J- I understand what your saying- That's why I think a standard is good and you make sure people you hire can meet that standard. Without a standard - who do you hire?