View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 21st, 2005, 06:40 PM
Quixote Quixote is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia.
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Secirity information goes when directory moved

I have the security file (*.mdw)in the same directory as the database. It has been set up for the various groups/users. Admin & User grooups/users have had their access removed. Things work well.

I move the directory and I am able to access the database simply by clicking on its icon, it seems the system creates a new .mdw file.

I join my *.mdw file that I set up and check it and everything is still ok. Indeed from that security group I have to enter my password to open the database again before I could check.

But if simply moving the directory to a new area removes the security protection what good is it. Clearly I have missed something. But what? Thanks for any assistance.