View Single Post
Old August 25th, 2010, 12:57 PM
Friend of Wrox
Points: 1,749, Level: 16 Points: 1,749, Level: 16 Points: 1,749, Level: 16
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

Quote:
Originally Posted by samjudson View Post
It may be that you simply remove the " = new ContentType()" from the variable declaration.
:) Got it! I'm no longer simply a consumer of generics, I'm now an author. The string problem was exactly what you pointed out Sam. Since the variable is an open generic type, I can't initialize it (like consuming an interface). Once I dropped the initialization "ContentType classTableCellContent;" that problem went away.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sridhar c View Post
Hi Chroniclemaster1, There is an error your code, which throws cannot implicitly convert type ContentType to ContentType ....
Just remove the '<ContentType>' content in addContent method and should compile fine.
Then sridhar c's fix solved my problem with the second type declaration. Now I only declare one open data type so the function is talking the same set of variable names as the class. :D

Quote:
Originally Posted by samjudson View Post
Also, it is convention to use "T" as the name of the generic type - this is much shorter and easier to read, and also makes it easier to spot where the generic type is used. ContentType could quite easily be the name of an actual class.