View Single Post
Old October 3rd, 2011, 02:07 PM
Authorized User
Points: 71, Level: 1 Points: 71, Level: 1 Points: 71, Level: 1
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%

Default I have to agree with PO'd Developer...so far...

I'm just really getting started with this book, and I've read several other books on ASP.Net 3.5 development. I've been working with it for a couple of years and am very comfortable with the development environment and both primary languages (VB.Net and C#). But, there are some things that I'm seeing in this book so far that are significant problems.

In the "Solution" section of chapter 1, for example, the example code has you set references to two custom controls (FooterCopyright.ascx and ThemeSelector.ascx). This is the first time these controls are referred to. The code to create them hasn't been presented yet. The only thing I can infer from this is that the author assumes that, rather than trying to follow and implement the examples from scratch, the reader is expected to download the code from the website...But, that begs the question of why begin the Solution with "First, create a new website project in Visual Studio .Net 2008..." (if you expect everyone to download the code and work with that).

Similarly, the presentation of the content of one or more CSS files without specifying the files or the folder structure to use to implement themes (as has been alluded to throughout the chapter) is just poor presentation. How difficult is it to add a few paragraphs instructing the reader to add a "Theme" folder named "X". Create a Stylesheet file named "Y" and add the following to it:... ?