p2p.wrox.com Forums

p2p.wrox.com Forums (http://p2p.wrox.com/index.php)
-   BOOK: Beginning PHP, Apache, MySQL Web Development ISBN: 978-0-7645-5744-6 (http://p2p.wrox.com/forumdisplay.php?f=123)
-   -   Can I run Apache and IIS on the same PC? (http://p2p.wrox.com/showthread.php?t=12789)

thegooner May 9th, 2004 01:50 PM

Can I run Apache and IIS on the same PC?
 
Hi all

Thanks to this forum I bought this book.
I previously worked through the "Beginning ASP 3.0" book from Wrox, but am now moving onto PHP.
My question is, can I run the Apache server software on the same machine that I have Windows IIS running. I have Windows 2000 running IIS. Do I have to uninstall IIS before I install Apache, or can they both run together? If so, how?

Thanks in advance.

thegooner

nikolai May 13th, 2004 06:35 PM

Yes, you can run them both, but they can't listen to the same port. Port 80 is the default HTTP port, but you can specify the port you want to connect to in the URL.

If you set up IIS to use the default port, and set up Apache to connect to port 8080 (for example), then you can access them like this:

 http://localhost/ (IIS index)
 http://localhost:8080/ (Apache index)


Take care,

Nik
http://www.bigaction.org/

agrikk May 23rd, 2004 07:46 PM

What about if I set up two IP addresses on that machine?

I'm trying to set up a box with two IP addresses with apache listening on one IP on port 80, and IIS listening on the other IP Address on port 80 as well.

Is this possible? Can anyone point me to a reference?




richard.york May 24th, 2004 06:17 PM

I don't think this is possible, having both listen on the same port would cause conflicts.

Regards,
Rich

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
The Spicy Peanut Project
http://www.spicypeanut.net
::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

jason.gerner June 7th, 2004 02:53 PM

While I've never done it in exactly this combination, it should be possible (I've run IIS on multiple IPs :80, and apache the same, but never combined)

Good places to start reading:

--- Apache ---
http://httpd.apache.org/docs-2.0/mod...on.html#listen
http://httpd.apache.org/docs-2.0/bind.html

--- IIS ---
In the IIS management MMC window/snap-in, right-click and choose properties for the website in question (probably "Default Web Site"). There's a drop-down for IP address where you can choose IP address to bind to (or all available); listening port is entered in a text field below that, and there's an advanced button for further tweaking.


agrikk January 21st, 2005 07:50 PM

A long overdue update to my own quetion:

After installing Windows 2003, I configured IIS then turned off the service. Then I installed Apache and configured it to listen on the proper IP and port.

In this case the problem was that IIS 6.0 has a feature called Socket Pooling that claims all ports for all loaded IP addresses, even if not configured in IIS.

So, IIS was hogging port 80 on the IP address I'd designated as the Apache address and causing it to not run.

What I had to do was:

1- Extract the httpcfg.exe utility from the support tools area on the Win2003 CD.
2 - stop all IIS services: net stop http /y
3 - have IIS listen only on the IP address I'd designated for IIS: httpcfg set iplisten -i 192.168.1.253
4 - make sure: httpcfg query iplisten (the ip's listed are the only ip addresses that IIS will be listening on and no other)
5- restart IIS Services: net start w3svc

Voila! Apache is listening on its default ports on 192.168.1.254 and IIS is listening on its default ports on 192.168.1.253.



tim_nz June 14th, 2005 12:17 AM

Hi I'm keen to get started with the book but..
I'm still unable to get Apache working on XP Pro with IIS.
I'm using XAMPP Apache2.
I've tried changing the listening port to 8080 in conf/httpd but no luck. When I click start Apache it just stops immediately.


dbdave June 14th, 2005 06:31 AM

I used appserv to setup my AMP. http://www.appservnetwork.com/ give it a go.... it's real easy to use..


tim_nz June 14th, 2005 10:33 PM

OK I installed appserv with 8080 as the port.
Now I get this message when I try to start Apache2:
"The system can not find the file specified. no installed service
named Apache2"
I installed it in the default location and didn't change anything.
Apache2 is not listed under Services but PHPgeekutil is.


tim_nz June 15th, 2005 05:45 AM

OK it works if I open from the bin folder myself rather than through the start menu.
Refer http://www.webmasterworld.com/forum92/3337.htmif interested



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2013 John Wiley & Sons, Inc.