p2p.wrox.com Forums

p2p.wrox.com Forums (http://p2p.wrox.com/index.php)
-   PHP Databases (http://p2p.wrox.com/forumdisplay.php?f=97)
-   -   Can a code be corrupted? (http://p2p.wrox.com/showthread.php?t=55692)

A Watman March 21st, 2007 08:16 PM

Can a code be corrupted?
 
I've been working with Beginning PHP5, Apache, MySQL Web Development and I'm wondering if the code can somehow be corrupted. Here's what seems to be happening to me:

I will create the documents (in this case it's an HTML form that works with a php document). Everything works just fine. THEN, I will try changing something just to experiment, which of course, makes it not work. So, I will change the document(s) back to their original code/html and now it doesn't work! This is just one line of code. The same thing happened when I used the sample code from WROX.

Please, can anyone explain what might be going on. (I have carefully gone over everything, I swear!)

Thank you, Anne


dparsons March 21st, 2007 08:30 PM

There is a difference between corruption and coding errors. The latter is common the former is not.

Is php throwing you an error? What is your code telling you?

================================================== =========
Read this if you want to know how to get a correct reply for your question:
http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
^^Took that from planoie's profile^^
^^Modified text taken from gbianchi profile^^
================================================== =========
Technical Editor for: Professional Search Engine Optimization with ASP.NET
http://www.wiley.com/WileyCDA/WileyT...470131470.html
================================================== =========
Why can't Programmers, program??
http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/archives/000781.html
================================================== =========

A Watman March 21st, 2007 09:04 PM

I'll be honest, I know I've made errors and I've found them! But, I have gone over and over this and not been able to find anything. But, I'll keep trying. I know it's easy to miss just about anything from quotes to semi-colons. I just did a second test by using the downloaded WROX files, making a change, changing it back, and it worked fine. So, it must be me!

Thank you for the input. Anne


jmaronilla March 22nd, 2007 10:55 PM

Anne,
For us to help you, we need to see the codes you changed.
It might be worth it and also may give you some tips
to omit those kind of errors. As an expample,
adding comments on your change would be a good practice.
I hope this helps.
John


A Watman March 23rd, 2007 08:46 AM

First, I really appreciate getting two replies to my question. I'm sure it's obvious that I'm in the process of learning and I know you have all heard some version of these things before. So, it's nice that you were able to take a big sigh and explain it once again.

I have been trying to learn how to add a database to a website I'm working on for a customer and I'm feeling a lot of self-induced pressure. I think there are times when I need to take a break and get away from coding (and the computer!) because after a while I just cannot see my errors, no matter how carefully I think I'm proofing.

I finally spotted my error and I'm truly embarrassed to say that what I did wrong was name the form "form3.html" instead of "form3.php." In an earlier tutorial, it actually was "form1.html" and I just continued that way. I even saw that the other "php" file was looking for "form3.php"!!! But, I was tired and it just didn't register.

I realize this is probably what you suspected and the only reason I'm providing such a lengthy response is that I hope maybe someone else who is new will see it and take a BREAK.

Thank you again, Anne



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:27 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2013 John Wiley & Sons, Inc.