p2p.wrox.com Forums

p2p.wrox.com Forums (http://p2p.wrox.com/index.php)
-   Internet Information Services (http://p2p.wrox.com/forumdisplay.php?f=262)
-   -   Have more than 1 website on server and seperate them. HOW? (http://p2p.wrox.com/showthread.php?t=72433)

rtr1900 January 27th, 2009 11:02 AM

Have more than 1 website on server and seperate them. HOW?
 
Hi everyone,

I have a website (Intranet) here at the office. And created a new one. They are:

http:\\192.168.100.1
and
http:\\192.168.100.1\forum

1) Now how can I seperate them so that users of group "A" can only see/acces the first site and the group "B" can only see/acces the second site.
2) is there a way I can give a name to the site so that it will be something like:

http:\\EMNTERPRISE
and http:\\FORUM


I have been trying some configuration, but now luck. All users have a unique IP adress (if neeed somehow)

Any help is welcome!!!!

thx

Johny

Old Pedant January 27th, 2009 05:13 PM

What operating system???

With XP Pro, you can only have one site per server. *PROBABLY* the same with Vista except the most advanced premium version, whatever they call it.

You can certainly simply "split" the site and give permissions to each half to only one group. That is:
http://mysite/Enterprise
http://mysite/Forum

rtr1900 January 28th, 2009 06:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Old Pedant (Post 233786)
What operating system???

With XP Pro, you can only have one site per server. *PROBABLY* the same with Vista except the most advanced premium version, whatever they call it.

You can certainly simply "split" the site and give permissions to each half to only one group. That is:
http://mysite/Enterprise
http://mysite/Forum

Sorry, forgot to mention it. We have Windows 2003 Server with IIS6 I believe.
I read something about DNS ans stuff like that. Do I have to mess with them a bit? (never done it before)

The reason for the seperation is that all the people of the FORUM are NON administration personal, and may not see the other web.

Many thx already

Old Pedant January 28th, 2009 06:27 PM

Sorry, never administered Windows 2003 Server. But should surely be able to find this in the IIS docs.

Hmmm... I just googled for "add domain to iis 6" and got plenty of helpful sites/links.

dparsons January 29th, 2009 12:32 AM

You can achieve this with host headers to some degree. For example say that your primary site: http:\\192.168.100.1 is setup as a website and you have configured your DNS Server to map http://Mycompany.com to the website above. What you would then do is create a SECOND website in IIS (use the wizard) and provide the string you want this URL to respond to in the Host Header protion of the Wizard. So it could be, http://MyCompanyForum.com

Next you will need to add an A record to your DNS server for your second website otherwise your users will not be able to see it (I assume an A record is already in place for site 1).

Lastly, if you dont want to go to all the DNS trouble you could provide a HOST file hack and, assuming you are using AD, push down a HOSTS file to all of the client machines so that when they type : http://MyCompany.com into the browser they will be taken to the internal webserver. *GOTCHA*: If you use this method you will need to have a unique IP address for each website (as far as i know)

Some more info can be found here: http://www.gafvert.info/notes/iis_multiple_websites.htm

hth
-Doug

rtr1900 January 29th, 2009 05:44 AM

Thx dparsons and Old Pedant

I am going to check it out today/tomorrow and will come back to you. i am getting the feeling I will get there.....

Thx again!
[:)][:)]

rtr1900 February 2nd, 2009 05:35 AM

Ok, it is driving me crazy.
I still can´t get it right. let me tell you what I did:

I have a server 2003 and there I have in DNS management the domain "intranet.mydomain.com" as an (A) Host.
Then in IIS I have a web which is pointed at 192.168.100.1, port 80. there is no use of any HostHeader (Should I change it?)
And if someone connects using http:\\192168.100.1 it will get the main webpage of our intranet
In the directory of the server all the files are at c:\inetpub\wwwroot

No I created a new directory at c:\inetpub\wwwroot\foro where I created the new website

But the only acces is using http:\\192.168.100.1\foro

But the problem is that all the comercials can also have acces to http:\\192.168.100.1, which I don´t like that much

So I want to seprate them. I tried using the "Deny/access" to the website using their IP. But if I say it is denied in the 192.168.100.1 website, it automaticcaly denies them in the 192.168.100.1/foro website.


Now I tried to do the next thing:
1) Created a new DNS Zone called Foro.mydomain.com (is this correct?)
2) Then I went to the IIS server aplication and created a new web without IP, and as HostHeader "FORO".

And from there I am lost.... as it doesn´t work.

Please help me!

rarmstrong August 26th, 2009 08:50 PM

Dont know if you're still having this issue as i dont even know how i stumbled across this....


For the host header, use "foro.mydomain.com" the complete domain, as IIS determines which site to send you to by the URL actually requested...

You even need to add "www.mydomain.com" AND "mydomain.com" to the headers of the default site, so it can be accessed by omitting the "www" part of the domain... ie.. entering google.com into your browser gets google with or without the "www" part.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:30 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2013 John Wiley & Sons, Inc.