p2p.wrox.com Forums

p2p.wrox.com Forums (http://p2p.wrox.com/index.php)
-   ASP.NET 3.5 Basics (http://p2p.wrox.com/forumdisplay.php?f=351)
-   -   Working with a database (http://p2p.wrox.com/showthread.php?t=72952)

areed24 February 25th, 2009 06:53 PM

Working with a database

I have a database with three tables, CITIES (Id, Name), MEMBERS (Id, Name, Email), COMMENTS (Id, CityId, Comments, MemberId). On the site, there is a drop down which users can select a City. Based on the city seletion, I would like all the comments for that city to appear. How do I output the Member's Name (not Id), Email Address, and Comments in a customizable table for the users to see?

I am new to both ASP.NET and databases, so any information would be greatly appreciated.

dparsons February 26th, 2009 12:08 AM

The SQL Code is trivial really. Something like this would do:

sql Code:
SELECT
       m.Name,
       c.Comments
   FROM Members m
   INNER JOIN Comments c ON m.ID = c.MemberID
   WHERE c.CityID = @CityID

After executing this SQL you could simply populate a data table and then bind it to a gridview something like:

gridView1.DataSource = somedatatable;
gridView1.DataBind();

hth.
-Doug

areed24 February 27th, 2009 11:42 AM

Almost but not quite

I have the following code on my page:

<
asp:DropDownListID="DropDownList1"runat="server"AutoPostBack="True"
DataSourceID="SqlDataSource1"DataTextField="Country"DataValueField="Id"AppendDataBoundItems="true">
<asp:ListItemValue="">Please select a county</asp:ListItem>
</asp:DropDownList>
<asp:SqlDataSourceID="SqlDataSource1"runat="server"ConnectionString="<%$ ConnectionStrings:SiteConnectionString1 %>"SelectCommand="SELECT [Country], [Id] FROM [Countries] ORDER BY [Country]">
</asp:SqlDataSource>
<asp:DropDownListID="DropDownList2"runat="server"DataSourceID="SqlDataSource2"DataTextField="Name"DataValueField="Id"AppendDataBoundItems="true"AutoPostBack="True"Visible="False">
</asp:DropDownList>