p2p.wrox.com Forums

p2p.wrox.com Forums (http://p2p.wrox.com/index.php)
-   ASP.NET 3.5 Basics (http://p2p.wrox.com/forumdisplay.php?f=351)
-   -   Any ideas on how I can present this nicely? (http://p2p.wrox.com/showthread.php?t=73177)

chobo2 March 8th, 2009 11:04 PM

Any ideas on how I can present this nicely?
 
Hi

I have a gridview and one of the columns is called description. Of course this field could get very long and right now I can have about 36characters with no spaces before my grdiview would start go out of the areas I want them to.

If they have spaces then maybe word wrapping will kick in but I am wondering anyone knows any better ways of doing it.

What I was thinking of was somehow cutting of the amount of the description and making that amount shown as a hyperlink or something. When pressed something would popup(not a new window though) and would have the full description but I don't know how to do this.

First I have to hide all the description in a way I can retrieve easy or I need to use ajax to query for that description on click.

So anyone have anyideas or any tips how I could do something like this? Or a better way of doing what I want to do?

pons_saravanan March 8th, 2009 11:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by chobo2 (Post 236522)
Hi

I have a gridview and one of the columns is called description. Of course this field could get very long and right now I can have about 36characters with no spaces before my grdiview would start go out of the areas I want them to.

If they have spaces then maybe word wrapping will kick in but I am wondering anyone knows any better ways of doing it.

What I was thinking of was somehow cutting of the amount of the description and making that amount shown as a hyperlink or something. When pressed something would popup(not a new window though) and would have the full description but I don't know how to do this.

First I have to hide all the description in a way I can retrieve easy or I need to use ajax to query for that description on click.

So anyone have anyideas or any tips how I could do something like this? Or a better way of doing what I want to do?

If you want it to be wraped even though it does not have any space. You may try to bind it to a textbox with multline enabled. I remember i have done this long back.

Have you tried any CSS possiblities like whitespace with pre,normal etc..

chobo2 March 8th, 2009 11:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pons_saravanan (Post 236523)
If you want it to be wraped even though it does not have any space. You may try to bind it to a textbox with multline enabled. I remember i have done this long back.

Have you tried any CSS possiblities like whitespace with pre,normal etc..

No I have not tried .css. how could i set a textbox on that column through code behind?

pons_saravanan March 9th, 2009 01:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by chobo2 (Post 236524)
No I have not tried .css. how could i set a textbox on that column through code behind?

Using template column. Please add the text box to itemtemplate.

you may refer this

http://www.vbknowledgebase.com/WebAp...and-css-styles


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:47 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2013 John Wiley & Sons, Inc.