p2p.wrox.com Forums

p2p.wrox.com Forums (http://p2p.wrox.com/index.php)
-   BOOK: Joomla! Start to Finish: How to Plan, Execute, and Maintain Your Web Site (http://p2p.wrox.com/forumdisplay.php?f=546)
-   -   Warning When clicking new menu item. (http://p2p.wrox.com/showthread.php?t=78987)

dianehoffman April 13th, 2010 10:10 AM

Warning When clicking new menu item.
 
Hi:
I am very new to Joomla!

I have set up my joomla site with a custom made Template and when I go and add menu items I get this response many , many, many times before the content is loaded:

Warning: cannot yet handle MBCS in html_entity_decode()! in /home/dhoffman/public_html/data/libraries/joomla/application/pathway.php on line 209

I looked in the pathway.php but I dont know what I am looking for.

Code:

        function _makeItem($name, $link)
        {
                $item = new stdClass();
                $item->name = html_entity_decode($name, ENT_COMPAT, 'UTF-8');
                $item->link = $link;

                return $item;
        }
}

Please help me or point me to a place that can help me

jen4web April 13th, 2010 08:41 PM

Diane -- I have never seen that error before.

Test your site with one of the built in Joomla templates (Milkyway or Beez) and try adding a menu item. Do you get the same errors? Are they exclusive to your template?

If you get errors with Milkyway/Beez, I would start by discussing things with your host. Are you running the right versions of Apache/IIS, PHP, MySQL? Are the permissions set up correctly for Joomla?

If you only get errors with your custom template, examine the code very closely for any typos. The exercise files are here on the site so you should just have to copy/paste from them to your template.

Jen

dianehoffman April 14th, 2010 03:45 PM

Hey thanks for the quick message
 
Hi Jen : Update: I tested with bees templates and I still got the same warning message, so then I called my domain host and he said he had to upgrade me to PHP5.

Now I am getting another error: when I try to edit the global configuration I get this:

"An Error has occurred! Unable to open configuration.php file to write!"

In my haste of re-installing joomla I used the Fantastico deLuxe this last time.
Could this be causing this problem?

Should I delete the site and reload joomla again from scratch or shall I down load the configuration.php and try to re-load it. Are these error common in joomla?
Is there a place where these common problems are stored so I don't have to bother you.

thanks again for the personal message.
Sincerely, Diane

ps. I have book and I have been working my way through your movies on Lynda. I think you rock!

jen4web April 14th, 2010 06:35 PM

Diane, it's entirely possible Fantastico is the source of many problems. I recommend you stay away from it and install manually.

When they upgraded you to the next version of PHP, maybe some permissions changed on your files and that's why the config file can't be updated.

Now -- you haven't said where you are hosting, but it sounds like some place that maybe doesn't know Joomla too well? I would strongly recommend looking at rochenhost.com or liquidweb.com instead of wherever you are. Rochen in particular specializes in Joomla hosting, and a good host will help you avoid a ton of problems and issues.

Glad you like the Lynda.com videos! :-)
Jen


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2013 John Wiley & Sons, Inc.