View Single Post
Old August 2nd, 2003, 02:05 PM
Authorized User

Send a message via ICQ to endamist Send a message via Yahoo to endamist

Hello,

I am not a proffessional and as a novice I probably pail in conparison to most novice programmers simply because I am self taught and at my own convience of time. I have purchased several books by various companyies on programming including topics of Beginning Java, Javascript, Web programming, Basic programming and Visual Basics 6. Of these I only have one book that is from Wrox. It is beginning Java 2 SDK 1.4 Edition by Ivor Horton.

Being someone who simply does not have the funds to attend college again and wishing to change my carreer to proramming I'm always looking for a really well written book on programming wether ist's a how to step by step or referance.

There was one thing that I've noticed in many of these books that really gives someone with little know how tons of frustration. Authors tend to forget that when they are writing a book for a novice that something they think is obvious is not always known by a novice. For example: when I wanted to begin to learn java programming I certainly couldn't afford a Graphical interface program to learn to use it or to try out the examples. Which is way I chose the book I did. But I had no clue how to get my programms to compile or execute because it was overlooked that in the command or bat files there had to be a path created so the system knew where to find the compiler and such. The book I started out with was by Sun and because I could not find the information in it I eventually purchased the one by Ivor Horton. Horton's book did help resolve some things that were not clear to me in the book published by Sun "Core Web Programming" however I had to search the web to find out how to create the required path and changes to my system to get anywhere.