Wrox Programmer Forums
|
ASP.NET 2.0 Basics If you are new to ASP or ASP.NET programming with version 2.0, this is the forum to begin asking questions. Please also see the Visual Web Developer 2005 forum.
Welcome to the p2p.wrox.com Forums.

You are currently viewing the ASP.NET 2.0 Basics section of the Wrox Programmer to Programmer discussions. This is a community of software programmers and website developers including Wrox book authors and readers. New member registration was closed in 2019. New posts were shut off and the site was archived into this static format as of October 1, 2020. If you require technical support for a Wrox book please contact http://hub.wiley.com
 
Old December 3rd, 2006, 01:33 PM
Friend of Wrox
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 204
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Your Opinion Needed

Hi, I've come to a fork in the road and I wanted to solicit my programmer community to get some input into my dillema.

Basically I'm creating a data access page to replace an Access database. One record will span multiple "tabs" which I've set up using a MultiView that is controlled by a series of LinkButtons.

My question is this: for maximum performance, which approach is better: Use one dataset for all the fields, spanning all the tabs, or one dataset for each tab.

The way I see it, the former approach will be faster for navigating between tabs, and the latter will be faster for navigating between records (when the user is staying on a single tab). Keep in mind that I'll be caching these datasets, but not until they are actually needed.

Thanks!

Aaron






Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installation of Opinion Poll ssertial BOOK: ASP.NET 2.0 Website Programming Problem Design Solution ISBN: 978-0-7645-8464-0 0 October 26th, 2008 06:35 PM
Opinion - How would you of done this differently? dparsons Intro Programming 0 May 15th, 2007 02:00 PM
In the Chapter 6 Opinion Polls mpuisto BOOK: ASP.NET 2.0 Website Programming Problem Design Solution ISBN: 978-0-7645-8464-0 3 March 19th, 2007 07:40 PM
An opinion on my join please mat41 Classic ASP Professional 2 March 29th, 2004 02:49 AM





Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (c) 2020 John Wiley & Sons, Inc.