Wrox Programmer Forums
Go Back   Wrox Programmer Forums > Visual Basic > VB 6 Visual Basic 6 > Beginning VB 6
| Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read
Beginning VB 6 For coders who are new to Visual Basic, working in VB version 6 (not .NET).
Welcome to the p2p.wrox.com Forums.

You are currently viewing the Beginning VB 6 section of the Wrox Programmer to Programmer discussions. This is a community of software programmers and website developers including Wrox book authors and readers. New member registration was closed in 2019. New posts were shut off and the site was archived into this static format as of October 1, 2020. If you require technical support for a Wrox book please contact http://hub.wiley.com
Old May 28th, 2011, 05:43 PM

Default Check Boxes: Writing Results to Text File and Formatting Properly

Hello, everyone. This is my first post, and I'm a novice. I'm using Visual Basic 6, running on Windows 7 32-bit.

I need help with check boxes, please. I've written a rudimentary program that does nothing more than let me type text into a few text boxes, click a button, and have that text stored in a file.

Right now, the form has just a few text boxes, and a command button to generate the file. It works.

I'm going to complicate the project by adding a group of check boxes. I've only now just begun to research check boxes, but I haven't figured out how to get all of the checked options to be displayed on one line, separated by commas.

To elaborate:

Just for demonstration, let's say I have six check boxes in a check box group named HOBBIES. The six choices are:

1. Bicycling
2. Painting
3. Cooking
4. Dining Out
5. Strength Training
6. Playing Saxophone

Let's say someone selects the following three options:

Painting
Dining Out
Playing Saxophone

I'd like the line in the text file to be displayed like this, including the header:

Hobbies: Painting, Dining Out, Playing Saxophone

Is this possible?