Wrox Programmer Forums

Need to download code?

View our list of code downloads.

| FAQ | Members List | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read
Welcome to the p2p.wrox.com Forums.

You are currently viewing the BOOK: Beginning ASP 3.0 section of the Wrox Programmer to Programmer discussions. This is a community of tens of thousands of software programmers and website developers including Wrox book authors and readers. As a guest, you can read any forum posting. By joining today you can post your own programming questions, respond to other developers’ questions, and eliminate the ads that are displayed to guests. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free .
DRM-free e-books 300x50

Old February 12th, 2004, 11:32 AM

Default New to ASP

I have no programming background. I ordered Beginning Active Server Pages 3.0 to learn more about ASP and as a steppingstone to ASP.NET.

My main interest is in learning how to schedule data to appear for predetermined time periods from various sites that I design. After the time has passed I want the page to automatically revert to whatever was there before the predetermined starting time or, possibly, start a new "special".

For example, a "daily special" five, six or seven days a week for a restaurant or a "weekend special" for a retailer, a "weekly special" and so on. All data would be placed in tables with both text and photos/graphics.

These sites are not ecommerce and therefore I don't need price, sales tax or shipping computations. I do need to be able to change the data as quickly and effortlessly as possible though. I use FrontPage 2003 for design purposes with an ASP hosting company.

It is important that I get started on the right track by deciding 1. The correct db to use and 2. whether one large db can be used for many small sites, or if some sort of ease and efficiency is gained by using one small db per site.