Wrox Programmer Forums
|
BOOK: Beginning ASP.NET 1.0
This is the forum to discuss the Wrox book Beginning ASP.NET 1.0 with C# by Chris Goode, John Kauffman, Christopher L. Miller, Neil Raybould, S. Srinivasa Sivakumar, Dave Sussman, Ollie Cornes, Rob Birdwell, Matt Butler, Gary Johnson, Ajoy Krishnamoorthy, Juan T. Llibre, Chris Ullman; ISBN: 9780764543708
Welcome to the p2p.wrox.com Forums.

You are currently viewing the BOOK: Beginning ASP.NET 1.0 section of the Wrox Programmer to Programmer discussions. This is a community of software programmers and website developers including Wrox book authors and readers. New member registration was closed in 2019. New posts were shut off and the site was archived into this static format as of October 1, 2020. If you require technical support for a Wrox book please contact http://hub.wiley.com

Old October 7th, 2003, 06:14 PM

Send a message via MSN to Kris
Default Ch 10 Problem with global.asax

Hi im new to asp.net programming so this question might sound silly to you but I would really need some help. (Im also from Sweden so my english is not very good)

In the example of creating a simple shopping basket in chapter 10 it says in the end that you can add a global.asax file, in where you could write a message ..."buy some of our products, Bill!". I did this and then I wrote in my session.aspx file <%Session("Message")%>. And when I open my session.aspx file I thought I would see this message displayed but I dont. Is it not supposed to be displayed on the page? If it is, then why isnt it there?
Here is the code I have:
In global.asax:

<script language="VB" runat="server">
Sub Session_OnStart()
Session("Message") = "Buy some of our products, Bill!"
End Sub
</script>

In session.aspx:

<%@ Page language="VB"%>
<script language="vb" runat="server">

Sub EmptyClick(sender As System.Object, e As System.EventArgs)
    Session("BasketCount") = 0
  End Sub

Sub AddClick(sender As System.Object, e As System.EventArgs)