Wrox Programmer Forums
|
BOOK: Beginning ASP.NET 2.0 BOOK VB ISBN: 978-0-7645-8850-1; C# ISBN: 978-0-470-04258-8
This is the forum to discuss the Wrox book Beginning ASP.NET 2.0 by Chris Hart, John Kauffman, David Sussman, Chris Ullman; ISBN: 9780764588501
Welcome to the p2p.wrox.com Forums.

You are currently viewing the BOOK: Beginning ASP.NET 2.0 BOOK VB ISBN: 978-0-7645-8850-1; C# ISBN: 978-0-470-04258-8 section of the Wrox Programmer to Programmer discussions. This is a community of software programmers and website developers including Wrox book authors and readers. New member registration was closed in 2019. New posts were shut off and the site was archived into this static format as of October 1, 2020. If you require technical support for a Wrox book please contact http://hub.wiley.com

Old December 15th, 2006, 05:35 PM

Default 100% Beginner, Can't get SQL Express connected

Hi,
The book is fantastic. As a pure beginner, I love the format and writing.

But, like many people, i can't get VWD express and SQL 2005 Server Express to work. I'm now on Chap. 3 and can't continue without getting them connected

I've tried to work through the suggestions in the Appendix B, and advice from these forums. But, I don't know the first thing about how to enter a Connection String or anything about database setup. What program do you even use??

Can anyone give me a Step-By-Step for dummies on how to do this?

Sunniest,
Adam

Old December 16th, 2006, 07:41 AM
Wrox Author

Thanked 1,576 Times in 1,552 Posts

Hi there,

I don't have the book, so I don't know what Appendix B is talking about. But I am also unsure what exactly you're asking. Do you have problems installing SQL Server Express? If so, do you get an error? Or do you have problems connecting to it / using it?

Can you elaborate a little bit?

Imar
---------------------------------------
Imar Spaanjaars
http://Imar.Spaanjaars.Com
Everyone is unique, except for me.