Wrox Programmer Forums
|
BOOK: Beginning ASP.NET 3.5 : in C# and VB BOOK ISBN: 978-0-470-18759-3
This is the forum to discuss the Wrox book Beginning ASP.NET 3.5: In C# and VB by Imar Spaanjaars; ISBN: 9780470187593
Welcome to the p2p.wrox.com Forums.

You are currently viewing the BOOK: Beginning ASP.NET 3.5 : in C# and VB BOOK ISBN: 978-0-470-18759-3 section of the Wrox Programmer to Programmer discussions. This is a community of software programmers and website developers including Wrox book authors and readers. New member registration was closed in 2019. New posts were shut off and the site was archived into this static format as of October 1, 2020. If you require technical support for a Wrox book please contact http://hub.wiley.com

Old August 8th, 2010, 06:49 AM

Default Chapter 9 Email problem

Hi Imar

First of all i want to say how helpful i am finding your book. Im a classic ASP Classic developer learning .net in c# and your book is quite simply the best i have found.

I am, however struggling, with the email settings. I have a hotmail account and when i try and load th demo page (as per page 310 of your book) i get the following error

Mailbox unavailable. The server response was: 5.7.3 Requested action aborted; user not authenticated

This is with mySmtpClient.EnableSsl = true;
If i take that out i get a different error message

The SMTP server requires a secure connection or the client was not authenticated. The server response was: 5.7.0 Must issue a STARTTLS command first

My code is as follows

Code behind the demo email page ...

using System.Net.Mail;
using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.Linq;
using System.Web;
using System.Web.UI;
using System.Web.UI.WebControls;

public partial class Email : BasePage
{
protected void Page_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)
{
MailMessage myMessage = new MailMessage();
myMessage.Subject = "Test Message";
myMessage.Body = "Hellow world, from planet Wrox";