Wrox Programmer Forums
Go Back   Wrox Programmer Forums > ASP.NET and ASP > ASP.NET 4.5 > BOOK: Beginning ASP.NET 4.5 : in C# and VB
| Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read
BOOK: Beginning ASP.NET 4.5 : in C# and VB
This is the forum to discuss the Wrox book Beginning ASP.NET 4.5: in C# and VB by Imar Spaanjaars; ISBN: 978-1-118-31180-6
Welcome to the p2p.wrox.com Forums.

You are currently viewing the BOOK: Beginning ASP.NET 4.5 : in C# and VB section of the Wrox Programmer to Programmer discussions. This is a community of software programmers and website developers including Wrox book authors and readers. New member registration was closed in 2019. New posts were shut off and the site was archived into this static format as of October 1, 2020. If you require technical support for a Wrox book please contact http://hub.wiley.com
 
Old June 13th, 2013, 03:08 PM
Registered User
Points: 8, Level: 1
Points: 8, Level: 1 Points: 8, Level: 1 Points: 8, Level: 1
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Chapter 13: Grid View not appearing on Reviews.aspx

After following the Try It Out on page 470, the GridView on Reviews.aspx works correctly in Design View - ie the Test Query showed the correct results.
When I view the page in a browser, I've tried Firefox 21.0 and IE 10, the Grid doesn't display. Furthermore when I view the generated HTML, it's not there either!
I replaced my Reviews.aspx and Reviews.aspx.vb with the ones from the book's download - still the same thing.
I am not having this problem with the GridView on the Genres.aspx page.
Truly stumped, any advice much appreciated!
 
Old June 13th, 2013, 03:52 PM
Registered User
Points: 8, Level: 1
Points: 8, Level: 1 Points: 8, Level: 1 Points: 8, Level: 1
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Resolved

Figured it out. When I removed the WHERE clause it worked OK. I went back to the DDL and I had the Data Source set to "Specify a custom SQL..." rather than "Specify columns..."




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chapter 13: TryItOut-Customizing Detail View --- not inserting new data? wgrayson BOOK: Beginning ASP.NET 4 : in C# and VB 7 September 4th, 2012 08:26 PM
Chapter 4: Pages 130 - 132 Querying for reviews & Displaying the reviews FlaUsa BOOK: Beginning PHP5, Apache, and MySQL Web Development ISBN: 978-0-7645-7966-0 0 January 24th, 2012 01:55 AM
chapter 13 , Bullets Reviews not displaying anjumk BOOK: Beginning ASP.NET 3.5 : in C# and VB BOOK ISBN: 978-0-470-18759-3 5 October 7th, 2011 12:03 PM
Chapter 10 - Design View not appearing ChuckASP BOOK: Beginning ASP.NET 3.5 : in C# and VB BOOK ISBN: 978-0-470-18759-3 3 March 24th, 2010 01:38 PM
Chpt 13 - issue with DNN controls not appearing in VS2008 Meister1867 BOOK: Professional DotNetNuke 5: Open Source Web Application for ASP.NET ISBN: 978-0-470-43870-1 0 August 29th, 2009 09:31 PM





Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (c) 2020 John Wiley & Sons, Inc.