Wrox Programmer Forums
|
BOOK: Professional ASP.NET 3.5 : in C# and VB ISBN: 978-0-470-18757-9
This is the forum to discuss the Wrox book Professional ASP.NET 3.5: In C# and VB by Bill Evjen, Scott Hanselman, Devin Rader; ISBN: 9780470187579
Welcome to the p2p.wrox.com Forums.

You are currently viewing the BOOK: Professional ASP.NET 3.5 : in C# and VB ISBN: 978-0-470-18757-9 section of the Wrox Programmer to Programmer discussions. This is a community of software programmers and website developers including Wrox book authors and readers. New member registration was closed in 2019. New posts were shut off and the site was archived into this static format as of October 1, 2020. If you require technical support for a Wrox book please contact http://hub.wiley.com

Old July 17th, 2008, 05:40 AM

Default Connection String setting at runtime

Hi folks,

I am pretty new to ASP.Net, but these Wrox books are great! I do have a problem that I don't seem to be able to get round though, and if anyone out there could advise me, I would be really grateful.

I am trying to set up a web site where users log in (using the ASP.Net login controls). However, before they do that, they need to choose an "account", which will basically define which back end SQL server database they will use.

My thinking is that several different clients could use this web site, and they will each have their own data database (Clientaccount.mdf) and security database (ASPNETDB_clientaccount.mdf). Supplying the account name will then define which data/security database they will be using, and then they will log in with a username and password.
This keeps different clients data apart (rather than having all data in one database, which is something I don't want to have to do).

My problem comes with dynamically setting the connection strings, based on whatever "account" they have entered (I propose to set the ConnectionStrings after they have entered this "account" and before they log in.