Wrox Programmer Forums
Go Back   Wrox Programmer Forums > C# and C > C# 2005 > C# 2005
|
C# 2005 For discussion of Visual C# 2005.
Welcome to the p2p.wrox.com Forums.

You are currently viewing the C# 2005 section of the Wrox Programmer to Programmer discussions. This is a community of software programmers and website developers including Wrox book authors and readers. New member registration was closed in 2019. New posts were shut off and the site was archived into this static format as of October 1, 2020. If you require technical support for a Wrox book please contact http://hub.wiley.com

Old May 17th, 2008, 10:44 PM
Authorized User

Default Why would anyone use MS Widgets?

Sorry, this is just a rant. Every time I try to use one of those nifty widgets Microsoft gives us that are supposed to reduce the amount of code you write (something I love doing), I wind up spending many hours trying to get the widget to do what I want it to.

I'm fairly new to ASP.Net so I thought I'd try some of the Data controls. The FormView looks particularly useful so ... I've spent several hours now trying to get it to work. The multiple templates looks cool, but I can't get it swap to the template I want. Apparently you can't access the events of the controls inside a FormView ... :-(

According to MS's documentation the wizard creates buttons for each template that could be used to change the current mode (template), but it's not clear how to make them work. So I'll go back to writing code, with which I can always get the result I want, and hope that some day Microsoft makes some usable widgets.

What you don't know can hurt you!

Old May 18th, 2008, 03:57 AM
Friend of Wrox

Hi

I'm not sure what the 'widget' you are refering to is, so can't really help. Do you mean an ASP.Net web control? Is it one of the built in ones? If you could try and explain which control you are using and provide code examples then maybe we could help.

Sam

/- Sam Judson : Wrox Technical Editor -/