Wrox Programmer Forums
|
Welcome to the p2p.wrox.com Forums.

You are currently viewing the Dreamweaver (all versions) section of the Wrox Programmer to Programmer discussions. This is a community of software programmers and website developers including Wrox book authors and readers. New member registration was closed in 2019. New posts were shut off and the site was archived into this static format as of October 1, 2020. If you require technical support for a Wrox book please contact http://hub.wiley.com
 
Old November 30th, 2004, 01:38 AM
Friend of Wrox
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 249
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Opinions About Contribute

Has anybody used Macromedia's Contribute? Is there a big learning curve? I am just looking for opinions good and bad. I have a real tight deadline on a project and am looking at anything that might help cut corners anywhere.

Peace
Mike
__________________
Peace
Mike
http://www.eclecticpixel.com
 
Old November 30th, 2004, 02:44 PM
Imar's Avatar
Wrox Author
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 17,089
Thanks: 80
Thanked 1,576 Times in 1,552 Posts
Default

Hi Mike,

It depends on from whose perspective you look at things. For a regular Web developer, there may be some learning curve. To successfully use Contribute, you also need to know how to use Dreamweaver and its template feature (among other important features). This may take some time to get used to, but it can be worth the investment.

For the end user, things can be as easy as using MS Word or another text editor, although you should of course invest some time in educating the people that are going to maintain the content. There are a few important concepts your users should be aware of before they edit a site, to avoid broken layout, bad links or other stuff a Web professional hates to see on a web site.

Just curious though: How do you think Contribute can help you meet your dead-lines? What part of the project do you want it to solve?

If you want to know more, feel free to ask.

Cheers,

Imar
 
Old December 1st, 2004, 02:59 PM
Friend of Wrox
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 249
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey Imar
Thanks for the info, one reason I was asking for opions was that I read somewhere that it was sluggish, but that was one opinion.

The reason I was looking at contribute is the client for this site wants to keep the content updated themselves, such as their newsletter, like a rich text application with the ability to place photos, more pages ect. I was thinking this might be a good way to keep control of the look of the site by only allowing certain fonts, colors, etc. I would still need to build the database driven pages. To save time I figured I would be able to just post the templates and let the client go ahead and update their content(after training). I am not familiar with other rich text editors that allow you to have as much control, or I would have to look at creating something to allow for this.

Peace
Mike
 
Old December 1st, 2004, 04:58 PM
Imar's Avatar
Wrox Author
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 17,089
Thanks: 80
Thanked 1,576 Times in 1,552 Posts
Default

Well, it can certainly perform the rich editing functions you describe, and IMO, it does it very well. The lock down features, blocking users from messing with th font, width, colors etc is great.

So, for static content, it's a great maintenance tool. You still need to build something for database driven content, as you pointed out.

I have had no troubles with its speed. What version are you talking about? Version 2 or 3?

Imar
 
Old December 1st, 2004, 05:47 PM
Friend of Wrox
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 249
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It would be the lastest, version 3. I found a big comparison sheet about it on the macromedia site. I will definetly be looking into this more. I don't think there will be more than 10 users, so that will save cost also. Appreciate the help.

Mike





Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opinions sought re Captcha image use?? jimibt BOOK: ASP.NET 2.0 Website Programming Problem Design Solution ISBN: 978-0-7645-8464-0 6 April 9th, 2007 05:52 PM
apt session.timeout value for website (opinions) crmpicco Classic ASP Components 0 June 29th, 2006 11:33 AM
Opinions Wanted about XML Data Storage kwilliams XML 7 September 2nd, 2005 12:03 PM
Access or MSDE - Opinions? johnm73 VB Databases Basics 0 July 20th, 2005 03:48 AM





Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (c) 2020 John Wiley & Sons, Inc.