Wrox Programmer Forums
Go Back   Wrox Programmer Forums > Visual Basic > VB 2005 > Pro Visual Basic 2005
|
Pro Visual Basic 2005 For advanced Visual Basic coders working in version 2005. Beginning-level questions will be redirected to other forums, including Beginning VB 2005.
Welcome to the p2p.wrox.com Forums.

You are currently viewing the Pro Visual Basic 2005 section of the Wrox Programmer to Programmer discussions. This is a community of software programmers and website developers including Wrox book authors and readers. New member registration was closed in 2019. New posts were shut off and the site was archived into this static format as of October 1, 2020. If you require technical support for a Wrox book please contact http://hub.wiley.com

Old December 7th, 2005, 01:43 PM

Send a message via MSN to myserenity101
Default VB 2005 Generics in a Project Updgraded from 2003

.NET 2.0 introduces Generics which is something that I am just beginning to learn. If I create a new ClassLibrary in VS 2005 I have no problems working with generics. For instance here's a quick sample.

Imports System.Collections

Public Class TreeNode(Of T)
    Private _items As List(Of T)

End Class

This works fine if the project was originally created in VS 2005, however if I try the same thing (within VS 2005) on a project that has been upgraded from VS 2003, "List" isn't even an option in intellisense. However, If I type it(List(Of T)) in regardless it gets highlighted as an error with the statement "Type 'List' is not defined".

Any Ideas?

Old December 7th, 2005, 02:35 PM
Friend of Wrox

Send a message via AIM to Ankur_Verma Send a message via MSN to Ankur_Verma

Try this syntax

Dim GColInt As Generic.List(Of Integer)

Regards
Ankur Verma

Old December 7th, 2005, 03:46 PM

Thanks for the quick reply. However, I do not think that I'm being clear. Here is the Generic Class that I can use fine as long as the project itself originated from VS 2005, that is .NET 2.0