Wrox Programmer Forums
Go Back   Wrox Programmer Forums > SQL Server > SQL Server 2000 > SQL Server 2000
|
SQL Server 2000 General discussion of Microsoft SQL Server -- for topics that don't fit in one of the more specific SQL Server forums. version 2000 only. There's a new forum for SQL Server 2005.
Welcome to the p2p.wrox.com Forums.

You are currently viewing the SQL Server 2000 section of the Wrox Programmer to Programmer discussions. This is a community of software programmers and website developers including Wrox book authors and readers. New member registration was closed in 2019. New posts were shut off and the site was archived into this static format as of October 1, 2020. If you require technical support for a Wrox book please contact http://hub.wiley.com

Old March 10th, 2009, 01:40 PM

Default Return Recordset from Stored Procedure?

I'm being told that you can't return a recordset from a stored procedure where you have procedural code. I have no experience with SQL Server at all but this is making my BS meter twitch wildly. Is this true for this version of SQL Server and newer versions?

Old March 10th, 2009, 01:49 PM
Wrox Author

Send a message via AIM to dparsons

It depends on what you mean by 'Recordset'. To me the results of:

sql Code:
SELECT * FROM <Table>

returns a Result set or record set; simply a collection of rows from the table. If, however, you are asking if SQL Server can return an ADO Recordset object (which you might use in a Classic ASP application) then no, I do not believe you can do that.

hth.
-Doug
Did someone here help you? Click on their post!
"Easy is the path to wisdom for those not blinded by themselves."
===============================================

Old March 10th, 2009, 02:54 PM
Friend of Wrox

Quote:
Originally Posted by WildRover View Post