Wrox Programmer Forums
|
BOOK: ASP.NET 2.0 Instant Results ISBN: 978-0-471-74951-6
This is the forum to discuss the Wrox book ASP.NET 2.0 Instant Results by Imar Spaanjaars, Paul Wilton, Shawn Livermore; ISBN: 9780471749516
Welcome to the p2p.wrox.com Forums.

You are currently viewing the BOOK: ASP.NET 2.0 Instant Results ISBN: 978-0-471-74951-6 section of the Wrox Programmer to Programmer discussions. This is a community of software programmers and website developers including Wrox book authors and readers. New member registration was closed in 2019. New posts were shut off and the site was archived into this static format as of October 1, 2020. If you require technical support for a Wrox book please contact http://hub.wiley.com

Old June 24th, 2008, 09:01 AM
Authorized User

Default Question about the Name Value Class used BugBase

I am new to OO and .NET in general. I want to be sure that I am using best practices when possible. I want to use the NameValue class that you describe in the BugBase chapter. In that chapter there is a line of code that populates the Bug business object from the database (theBug.Status = new NameValue(myReader...)).

I was wondering why the Bug classes constructor didn't have a line like: this.status = new NameValue();?

My thought was that if you new'ed the status variable in the Bugs constructor that you wouldn't need 'new' the status in multiple places (my webpages create new instances of the Bug class when I insert of update a bug so I have to 'new' the status in the code that loads the bug business class in my webpage and in the code that populates the bug class from the database).

Before I make this change (minor as it is), I want to be sure that there is not a specific reason why putting this.status = new NameValue(); in the Bugs constructor is a bad idea.