Wrox Programmer Forums
|
BOOK: ASP.NET 2.0 Website Programming Problem Design Solution ISBN: 978-0-7645-8464-0
This is the forum to discuss the Wrox book ASP.NET 2.0 Website Programming: Problem - Design - Solution by Marco Bellinaso; ISBN: 9780764584640
Welcome to the p2p.wrox.com Forums.

You are currently viewing the BOOK: ASP.NET 2.0 Website Programming Problem Design Solution ISBN: 978-0-7645-8464-0 section of the Wrox Programmer to Programmer discussions. This is a community of software programmers and website developers including Wrox book authors and readers. New member registration was closed in 2019. New posts were shut off and the site was archived into this static format as of October 1, 2020. If you require technical support for a Wrox book please contact http://hub.wiley.com
 
Old December 15th, 2006, 01:02 AM
Authorized User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Opinion Polls chapter problem

Ok, I ran the stupid chapter 6 from A to Z. On page 324, we can test the Polls control on the master page. When I try to run the page, I get this incredible annoying error:

It stops on "PollsProvider.cs" file, telling me that it cannot run a null argument on the

static public PollsProvider Instance
        {
            get
            {
                if (_instance == null)
                    _instance = (PollsProvider)Activator.CreateInstance(
                       Type.GetType(Globals.Settings.Polls.ProviderType)) ;
                return _instance;
            }
        }

I run the sample project, it runs fine. But if I run mine (copy and paste) it doesn't. I hate when this book doesn't cover all the coding and leaves you guess what to do. Since the provided code is not segmented on chapters but on the last chapter which you can't rely on the chapter you read.

 
Old December 15th, 2006, 03:23 AM
Authorized User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 99
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Have you made sure that you added the providerType code for the PollsElement class in ConfigSection.cs? Make sure that you have a providerType too.






Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In the Chapter 6 Opinion Polls mpuisto BOOK: ASP.NET 2.0 Website Programming Problem Design Solution ISBN: 978-0-7645-8464-0 3 March 19th, 2007 07:40 PM
Polls.Config is denied. eugz BOOK: ASP.NET Website Programming Problem-Design-Solution 1 November 18th, 2006 08:07 AM
Polls.Config nabeelalkaff BOOK: ASP.NET Website Programming Problem-Design-Solution 4 September 11th, 2006 09:21 PM
Opinion Polls enhancement void BOOK: ASP.NET 2.0 Website Programming Problem Design Solution ISBN: 978-0-7645-8464-0 2 July 12th, 2006 10:42 PM
Polls Web Service groupmatch BOOK: ASP.NET Website Programming Problem-Design-Solution 1 October 18th, 2004 08:55 PM





Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (c) 2020 John Wiley & Sons, Inc.