Wrox Programmer Forums

Need to download code?

View our list of code downloads.

| FAQ | Members List | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read
BOOK: ASP.NET 2.0 Website Programming Problem Design Solution ISBN: 978-0-7645-8464-0
This is the forum to discuss the Wrox book ASP.NET 2.0 Website Programming: Problem - Design - Solution by Marco Bellinaso; ISBN: 9780764584640
Welcome to the p2p.wrox.com Forums.

You are currently viewing the BOOK: ASP.NET 2.0 Website Programming Problem Design Solution ISBN: 978-0-7645-8464-0 section of the Wrox Programmer to Programmer discussions. This is a community of tens of thousands of software programmers and website developers including Wrox book authors and readers. As a guest, you can read any forum posting. By joining today you can post your own programming questions, respond to other developers’ questions, and eliminate the ads that are displayed to guests. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free .
DRM-free e-books 300x50
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 11th, 2006, 02:12 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: , , .
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Opinion Polls enhancement

In the end of Chapter 6 Opinion Polls, Marco adds a few suggestions. I am interested in making the polls only available/visible to registered users. I think I have an idea on how to do this based on reading the "Only for Members" part of Chapter 5.

Basically I am just interested on how you would implement this enhancement yourself.

Thanks

"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler." - Einstein
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 12th, 2006, 12:24 AM
Authorized User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: , , .
Posts: 99
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

While I haven't done this for The Beer House, the first version's poll control is quite similar. My implementation was not to make the entire implementation invisible. The usual method method is to entice users to want to vote and therefore register. So in the page load event of the control, I set the Vote button visible property to Context.User.IsAuthenticated. To make the entire control visible based on authentication could be done from the template page load event.

  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 12th, 2006, 10:42 PM
Authorized User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai, Maharastra, India.
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello Void,

I have a very good solution for opinion polls here.

Pl. have a look at the following site and dowload the working poll source code from the same link.

http://www.binaryintellect.net/artic...cle.aspx?id=12

Thanks

SoftMind

 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In the Chapter 6 Opinion Polls mpuisto BOOK: ASP.NET 2.0 Website Programming Problem Design Solution ISBN: 978-0-7645-8464-0 3 March 19th, 2007 07:40 PM
Opinion Polls chapter problem stzd8 BOOK: ASP.NET 2.0 Website Programming Problem Design Solution ISBN: 978-0-7645-8464-0 1 December 15th, 2006 03:23 AM
Enhancement Request Ben Horne Forum and Wrox.com Feedback 4 March 30th, 2004 08:13 PM
Forum Enhancement Request Ben Horne Forum and Wrox.com Feedback 5 March 22nd, 2004 01:07 PM
Enhancement Request Imar Forum and Wrox.com Feedback 8 March 16th, 2004 01:43 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2013 John Wiley & Sons, Inc.