Wrox Programmer Forums
| Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read
BOOK: ASP.NET 2.0 Website Programming Problem Design Solution ISBN: 978-0-7645-8464-0
This is the forum to discuss the Wrox book ASP.NET 2.0 Website Programming: Problem - Design - Solution by Marco Bellinaso; ISBN: 9780764584640
Welcome to the p2p.wrox.com Forums.

You are currently viewing the BOOK: ASP.NET 2.0 Website Programming Problem Design Solution ISBN: 978-0-7645-8464-0 section of the Wrox Programmer to Programmer discussions. This is a community of software programmers and website developers including Wrox book authors and readers. New member registration was closed in 2019. New posts were shut off and the site was archived into this static format as of October 1, 2020. If you require technical support for a Wrox book please contact http://hub.wiley.com
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 11th, 2006, 02:12 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: , , .
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Opinion Polls enhancement

In the end of Chapter 6 Opinion Polls, Marco adds a few suggestions. I am interested in making the polls only available/visible to registered users. I think I have an idea on how to do this based on reading the "Only for Members" part of Chapter 5.

Basically I am just interested on how you would implement this enhancement yourself.

Thanks

"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler." - Einstein
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 12th, 2006, 12:24 AM
Authorized User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: , , .
Posts: 99
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

While I haven't done this for The Beer House, the first version's poll control is quite similar. My implementation was not to make the entire implementation invisible. The usual method method is to entice users to want to vote and therefore register. So in the page load event of the control, I set the Vote button visible property to Context.User.IsAuthenticated. To make the entire control visible based on authentication could be done from the template page load event.

  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 12th, 2006, 10:42 PM
Authorized User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai, Maharastra, India.
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello Void,

I have a very good solution for opinion polls here.

Pl. have a look at the following site and dowload the working poll source code from the same link.

http://www.binaryintellect.net/artic...cle.aspx?id=12

Thanks

SoftMind



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In the Chapter 6 Opinion Polls mpuisto BOOK: ASP.NET 2.0 Website Programming Problem Design Solution ISBN: 978-0-7645-8464-0 3 March 19th, 2007 07:40 PM
Opinion Polls chapter problem stzd8 BOOK: ASP.NET 2.0 Website Programming Problem Design Solution ISBN: 978-0-7645-8464-0 1 December 15th, 2006 03:23 AM
Enhancement Request Ben Horne Forum and Wrox.com Feedback 4 March 30th, 2004 08:13 PM
Forum Enhancement Request Ben Horne Forum and Wrox.com Feedback 5 March 22nd, 2004 01:07 PM
Enhancement Request Imar Forum and Wrox.com Feedback 8 March 16th, 2004 01:43 PM





Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (c) 2020 John Wiley & Sons, Inc.