Wrox Programmer Forums
|
BOOK: ASP.NET 2.0 Website Programming Problem Design Solution ISBN: 978-0-7645-8464-0
This is the forum to discuss the Wrox book ASP.NET 2.0 Website Programming: Problem - Design - Solution by Marco Bellinaso; ISBN: 9780764584640
Welcome to the p2p.wrox.com Forums.

You are currently viewing the BOOK: ASP.NET 2.0 Website Programming Problem Design Solution ISBN: 978-0-7645-8464-0 section of the Wrox Programmer to Programmer discussions. This is a community of software programmers and website developers including Wrox book authors and readers. New member registration was closed in 2019. New posts were shut off and the site was archived into this static format as of October 1, 2020. If you require technical support for a Wrox book please contact http://hub.wiley.com

Old December 17th, 2008, 02:36 AM
Authorized User

Default A Hosted Email Problem....

I'm just getting started with a personal site based on TBH, and have (with help from jimi) solved one problem today, but am now onto another:

I'm trying to get outbound email working. I'm using godaddy.com to host the site and got their smtp server info... I took the Contact form and modified the web.config description as follows:

Code:
      <mailSettings>
         <!-- <smtp deliveryMethod="Network"> -->
         <smtp deliveryMethod="PickupDirectoryFromIis" from="info@latzky.com">
            <network defaultCredentials="true" host="smtpout.secureserver.net" port="25" />
         </smtp>
      </mailSettings>
I've also tried smtp.latzky.com as my smtp server although that was a pipedream.... I can't simulate at home, even by adding one of the freeware smtp servers to my Vista pc since my local dsl service has secure outbound mail, so I'm trying to debug the process from the hosted site with no luck.

Can anyone point me in the right direction? I've ensured that info@latzky.com is a valid email address, but no joy.....

Thanks!

Old December 17th, 2008, 10:15 AM
Wrox Author