Wrox Programmer Forums
| Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read
BOOK: Beginning ASP.NET 4 : in C# and VB
This is the forum to discuss the Wrox book Beginning ASP.NET 4: in C# and VB by Imar Spaanjaars; ISBN: 9780470502211
Welcome to the p2p.wrox.com Forums.

You are currently viewing the BOOK: Beginning ASP.NET 4 : in C# and VB section of the Wrox Programmer to Programmer discussions. This is a community of software programmers and website developers including Wrox book authors and readers. New member registration was closed in 2019. New posts were shut off and the site was archived into this static format as of October 1, 2020. If you require technical support for a Wrox book please contact http://hub.wiley.com
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 18th, 2012, 12:34 PM
Registered User
Points: 12, Level: 1
Points: 12, Level: 1 Points: 12, Level: 1 Points: 12, Level: 1
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default <CTRL>-F5

I must have changed setting somehow. Now when I press ctrl-F5 I get a dialog box to open a file instead of running the web page. Would someone please tell me how to corrrect?
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 18th, 2012, 01:01 PM
Imar's Avatar
Wrox Author
Points: 70,322, Level: 100
Points: 70,322, Level: 100 Points: 70,322, Level: 100 Points: 70,322, Level: 100
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands.
Posts: 17,089
Thanks: 80
Thanked 1,576 Times in 1,552 Posts
Default

Hi there,

Where do you get this dialog? In the browser or in VWD? Have you tried resetting your settings as explained at the end of chapter 1?

Imar
__________________
Imar Spaanjaars
http://Imar.Spaanjaars.Com
Follow me on Twitter

Author of Beginning ASP.NET 4.5 : in C# and VB, Beginning ASP.NET Web Pages with WebMatrix
and Beginning ASP.NET 4 : in C# and VB.
Did this post help you? Click the button below this post to show your appreciation!
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 18th, 2012, 04:40 PM
Registered User
Points: 12, Level: 1
Points: 12, Level: 1 Points: 12, Level: 1 Points: 12, Level: 1
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I get the dialog box from the VWD when I press ctrl-F5. I reset all settings as explained on page 27. I get this no matter whether I am in VB or CS, and when I go to the source docs and hit ctrl-F5 on a page that you made. I can always reinstall VWD.
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 19th, 2012, 05:20 AM
Imar's Avatar
Wrox Author
Points: 70,322, Level: 100
Points: 70,322, Level: 100 Points: 70,322, Level: 100 Points: 70,322, Level: 100
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands.
Posts: 17,089
Thanks: 80
Thanked 1,576 Times in 1,552 Posts
Default

Very odd. Do you also get it on new sites?

Take a look at the key bindings to see if you can find something wrong: Tools | Options | Environment | Keyboard. Pressing F5 in the "Press shortcut keys" field should reveal what is currently bound to F5.

Cheers,

Imar
__________________
Imar Spaanjaars
http://Imar.Spaanjaars.Com
Follow me on Twitter

Author of Beginning ASP.NET 4.5 : in C# and VB, Beginning ASP.NET Web Pages with WebMatrix
and Beginning ASP.NET 4 : in C# and VB.
Did this post help you? Click the button below this post to show your appreciation!
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 19th, 2012, 09:24 AM
Registered User
Points: 12, Level: 1
Points: 12, Level: 1 Points: 12, Level: 1 Points: 12, Level: 1
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for you help, by the way, Imar.

In options, the keyboard mapping scheme is 'default', then there are commands Build.BatchBuild, Build.BuildOnlyProject, Build.BuildPage, ..., and then in the Use new shortcut in: [long list].

I've tried various options and pressed F5 and ctrl-F5 to no avail. How do I set F5 as a shortcut key?
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 19th, 2012, 09:46 AM
Imar's Avatar
Wrox Author
Points: 70,322, Level: 100
Points: 70,322, Level: 100 Points: 70,322, Level: 100 Points: 70,322, Level: 100
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands.
Posts: 17,089
Thanks: 80
Thanked 1,576 Times in 1,552 Posts
Default

For me, F5 is bound to Debug.Start, which you can find in the Show Commands Containing box by typing it in...

Imar
__________________
Imar Spaanjaars
http://Imar.Spaanjaars.Com
Follow me on Twitter

Author of Beginning ASP.NET 4.5 : in C# and VB, Beginning ASP.NET Web Pages with WebMatrix
and Beginning ASP.NET 4 : in C# and VB.
Did this post help you? Click the button below this post to show your appreciation!


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chapter 1 Ctrl+F5 don't work, F5 does work? jimboak BOOK: Beginning ASP.NET 3.5 : in C# and VB BOOK ISBN: 978-0-470-18759-3 7 June 29th, 2008 03:46 AM
Reloading page with Ctrl+F5 aliirfan84 ASP.NET 2.0 Professional 1 October 10th, 2007 07:19 AM
<style> tags in a <body> vs. <div> bcat BOOK: Beginning CSS: Cascading Style Sheets for Web Design ISBN: 978-0-7645-7642-3 1 March 27th, 2005 08:50 AM
<marquee><b>About CHAT App. in PHP4</b></marquee> Ramkrishna PHP How-To 1 September 11th, 2004 07:01 AM
<STRONG> vs <B> and <EM> vs <I> anshul HTML Code Clinic 12 September 1st, 2004 05:22 PM





Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (c) 2020 John Wiley & Sons, Inc.