Wrox Programmer Forums
|
BOOK: Beginning C# 3.0 : An Introduction to Object Oriented Programming ISBN: 978-0-470-26129-3
This is the forum to discuss the Wrox book Beginning C# 3.0 : An Introduction to Object Oriented Programming by Jack Purdum; ISBN: 9780470261293
Welcome to the p2p.wrox.com Forums.

You are currently viewing the BOOK: Beginning C# 3.0 : An Introduction to Object Oriented Programming ISBN: 978-0-470-26129-3 section of the Wrox Programmer to Programmer discussions. This is a community of software programmers and website developers including Wrox book authors and readers. New member registration was closed in 2019. New posts were shut off and the site was archived into this static format as of October 1, 2020. If you require technical support for a Wrox book please contact http://hub.wiley.com

Old March 8th, 2009, 09:45 PM

Default Windows Form won't display after Pressing F5

hi there, I'm new to C# and using the Beginning C# Book. I'm a bit embarrassed to ask this question but I'm stumped...here I go:

I performed steps in Chapter 2, Pages 36-44. However, when I press F5 (or click the Green Arrow) to execute the code -- my form won't pop up. There are no errors in the bottom of Visual Studio. I went online and grabbed the source code and it runs fine (The form will popup and you can enter data). However, If I copy/paste the source code into my own project - I notice the same behavior, I can click F5 to execute it and no errors show up in the dialog messages but the form simply won't popup.

Since the code from the book won't work when I copy/paste the code into my project, I assume its some type of MSFT Visual C# 2008 Express settings but I'm stumped. Under Project Properties --> Application, I have Output Type = Windows Application and StartupObject = frmMain. I have a similar problem in Chapter 3, Pages 57-60...again, I think its some setting in my Visual Studio that is preventing the Windows form from popping up.

Any ideas where I can look?