Wrox Programmer Forums
| Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read
BOOK: Beginning VB.NET 2nd Edition/Beginning VB.NET 2003
This is the forum to discuss the Wrox book Professional VB.NET 2003 by Bill Evjen, Billy Hollis, Rockford Lhotka, Tim McCarthy, Jonathan Pinnock, Rama Ramachandran, Bill Sheldon; ISBN: 9780764559921
Welcome to the p2p.wrox.com Forums.

You are currently viewing the BOOK: Beginning VB.NET 2nd Edition/Beginning VB.NET 2003 section of the Wrox Programmer to Programmer discussions. This is a community of software programmers and website developers including Wrox book authors and readers. New member registration was closed in 2019. New posts were shut off and the site was archived into this static format as of October 1, 2020. If you require technical support for a Wrox book please contact http://hub.wiley.com
Old September 4th, 2003, 08:59 AM

Default Chapter 17 IIS problems

Ok.. I'm a professional programmer, but this is my first attempt at a web app. I'm stepping through the first example in chapter 17 where you setup 2 text fields and 2 pushbuttons - one for server-side and the other for client-side. Anyway, I've carefully gone through the setup and for some reason I can't the the server side to work. I should see 'Click the button ==>' on BOTH the server and client text fields. I do see it on the client one, but not on the server. Additionally, when you click the server-side pushbutton, you should see the text field change. Well.. I don't. Is there something in the setup of IIS or the project that I did wrong?

Old September 15th, 2003, 08:54 AM

It turns out that apparently none of my aspx.vb's codebehinds work.
Any clues?

Old September 15th, 2003, 10:35 AM
Authorized User

Send a message via MSN to JonathanC

Hi
this could be anything from permissions, the iis or .net setup

first try reinstalling asp.net
Open the Visual Studio command prompt.
type aspnet_regiis /?

this will give you the options

you can use