Wrox Programmer Forums

Need to download code?

View our list of code downloads.

Go Back   Wrox Programmer Forums > C# and C > C++ and Visual C++ > Visual C++ 2005
Password Reminder
Register
| FAQ | Members List | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read
Visual C++ 2005 For discussion of Visual C++ 2005.
Welcome to the p2p.wrox.com Forums.

You are currently viewing the Visual C++ 2005 section of the Wrox Programmer to Programmer discussions. This is a community of tens of thousands of software programmers and website developers including Wrox book authors and readers. As a guest, you can read any forum posting. By joining today you can post your own programming questions, respond to other developers’ questions, and eliminate the ads that are displayed to guests. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free .
DRM-free e-books 300x50

Old January 15th, 2008, 10:18 PM

Default Question on learning Visual C++/C# 2005

I am an experienced ANSI C programmer (for real-time embedded applications), and am interested in learning C++ for Windows and Web applications. I read Ivor Horton's Beginning Visual C++ 6, but understand that .NET is what is getting to be more widely used (as well as C#). I have Visual Studio 2005, and am considering using Ivor Horton's Beginning Visual C++ 2005 to learn the C++/CLI version of C++, which uses the .NET Framework. That way I will be able to build on my knowledge of ISO/ANSI C/C++ without having to start over by learning C#. If I eventually have to learn C#, I would think it will be easier since I will then be familiar with the .NET Framework. My questions to you are these:
1. Do you feel that the C++/CLI version of C++ is, and will continue to be, used widely by corporations that want to use the .NET Framework, or do you think they are mostly going to C#? (I see that Microsoft is continuing to include it in Visual Studio 2008).
2. Do you agree that the .NET Framework is phasing out the earlier versions?